Back to School Could Mean Back to Court if You’re Not Careful
It’s that time of year again, and you’re probably seeing more and more school buses taking over the roads on your morning commute. To avoid being charged with a traffic violation, we are here to keep you up to date on the Delaware traffic laws surrounding school bus safety.
In the State of Delaware, it is illegal for any vehicle approaching a stopped school bus to pass or overtake it. A school bus that is stopped and displaying flashing lights, alerts all drivers on the road to stop. When dropping off or picking up children, the school bus will pull as far to the right as possible, but this does not mean drivers can pass the bus. The only time a driver can pass or overtake a school bus is if there are 4 or more lanes and the driver is approaching the school bus from the front.
What are the penalties if you violate this traffic law? For the first offense a motorist will be charged between $115 and $230 or be imprisoned for 30 to 60 days. A driver who overtakes or passes a school but can also be charged with both the fine and the imprisonment sentence. For each following offense that happens within 3 years of the previous offense the driver will be both fined between $115 and $575 and imprisoned between 60 days and 6 months. In addition to these penalties, the Department will suspend the driver’s license and driving privileges between 1 month and 1 year.
Being in violation of passing or overtaking a school bus can negatively impact your day-to-day life in many ways. If you find yourself in need of a Delaware Defense Lawyer, call GDWG today to protect your rights and obtain the best possible outcome for your case.